30 Day Song Challenge: your favourite song at this time last year

arthur russell_2

My favourite song in April last year was actually a song that is much older than that. A friend of mine introduced me to Arthur Russell around this time last year, and I know I’m a latecomer but his name started popping up everywhere after that. He’s influenced a lot of the electronic artists I’m listening to nowadays, and it was this song that springs to mind when I think back to last year.

This Is How We Walk On The Moon is both sad and overjoyed, thanks to the melancholic cello matched by Russell’s one-of-a-kind falsetto. It always reminds me of that exciting, intangible notion of discovery, the taste of something new and completely of its own world.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

