30 Day Song Challenge: a song from your favourite album

beatles

Okay here’s the deal, I have a lot of favourite albums, but I really wanted The Beatles to factor into my 30 day song challenge list. And Sgt Peppers was the first of their albums I listened to in full, and it blew my freaking mind hole. Wide open. A Day In The Life is the pinnacle of that.

I’m not going to rant about the genius of Lennon, the musicianship of Harrison or anything else, it’s all been said. You can study The Beatles at university nowadays for Christ’s sake. All I know is that this song remains interesting to me years after hearing it for the first time. Above all, it’s a great story told with multiple voices and has remained unique after forty-odd years.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

