30 Day Song Challenge: a song that noone would expect you to love

scissor-sisters

I don’t think anyone would be surprised by my taste in music. I’m pretty open about my likes and dislikes, and I’m not afraid of a little ridicule. Otherwise I wouldn’t openly admit my enjoyment of such fine music purveyors as The Wombats and Panic! At The Disco – I believe the exclamation mark on the latter is now optional. So I found it a bit hard to choose a song for this one.

There are a few reasons why I think people wouldn’t expect me to love Comfortably Numb by Scissor Sisters.

A) It’s a cover of a Pink Floyd classic, which I genuinely love.

B) Scissor Sisters don’t exactly fit into the realm of music I immerse myself in.

C) To say this version makes liberal use of falsetto would be an understatement.

But the truth is, this is a great cover. Jake Shears and co. make the song entirely their own, it’s cabaret without being overtly camp and more than anything, it makes you dance. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

