30 Day Song Challenge: a song that reminds you of a certain event

seekae

On July 2, 2009, I stood in a London park with 50,000 people and watched my favourite band in a reunion show I never thought would happen in my lifetime. My love affair with Blur goes so far back into my childhood, I cannot contemplate a time when their music hasn’t been part of my life.

In all honesty, I never paid a lot of attention to Think Tank, mostly because I was a Blur purist and the loss of Graham Coxon was, in my eyes, the dissolution of the whole. In hindsight it was foolish to overlook this record, there’s a lot of beauty there, and it’s home to one of my favourite tracks now.

Out Of Time resonated with me during a time where I was a bit lost, lacking life direction, call it what you will. Standing in Hyde Park – a place I never thought I would be, in a city I always wanted to visit – it was a big deal for me. And I’ll admit, for the first time in my life I cried during a gig. Not racking sobs, but there was definitely a tear or two. Because to me, this was the pinnacle, and everything after is just an echo.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

