30 Day Song Challenge: a song that reminds you of somewhere

The-Cribs

A couple of years ago I found myself traversing Paris with my friend Stef. We would catch the metro and stare at the vast array of hipster types that would come and go on the trains. Instead of pointing out said hipsters, we decided to sing the chorus to The Cribs’ Mirror Kissers.

I discovered The Cribs thanks to Never Mind The Buzzcocks and a particularly entertaining episode involving Ryan Jarman, lead singer and one of the three members of the band. Their music is jangly indie rock, very rooted in being stringently independent of any scene or trend.

Listening to this song always reminds me of being on my first European expedition, seeing and doing things I’d never experienced before. It helped that I was on this adventure with one of my closest friends. And no we felt no shame in singing out loud on the streets in foreign countries.

This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

