The records that stick with you

Today I was asked by one of my friends to do one of those Facebook notes that ask you to restrictively list your favourites. In this case it was fifteen albums I’ve heard that will always stick with me. I took this to mean the records that either got me into music, made me rediscover my faith in music or opened my eyes to new styles or genres previously not on my radar. Of course, there’s plenty missing from here, but it’s best not to overthink lists.

In no particular order…

1. John Frusciante Shadows Collide With People
2. Arctic MonkeysWhatever I Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
3. BlurModern Life Is Rubbish
4. OasisWhat’s The Story, Morning Glory?
5. PulpDifferent Class
6. Joy DivisionUnknown Pleasures
7. The VerveUrban Hymns
8. Bright EyesLetting Off The Happiness
9. FantomasThe Director’s Cut
10. The HorrorsPrimary Colours
11. Arcade FireFuneral
12. System of a DownToxicity
13. The BeatlesSgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band
14. Neil YoungHarvest
15. Jesus And The Mary ChainDarklands

In the coming weeks I’ll be writing about each of these albums in a series of throwback reviews that will allow me to self-indulgently reminisce. Hopefully they will provide some insight too.

This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

